Now This is Something I Share with the President | Obama the Loner: The Trouble with the President’s Self-Reliant, Closed-Off Attitude | Vanity Fair


“Away from my mother, away from my grandparents, I was engaged in a fitful interior struggle,” he would write in Dreams from My Father. “I was trying to raise myself to be a black man in America, and beyond the given of my appearance, no one around me seemed to know what that meant.”
Give Obama credit for figuring that out, and for rising beyond even the wildest imaginings of his self-reliant youth. If he had chosen to be a novelist or neurosurgeon, an airline pilot or an atomic engineer, the very qualities of self-sufficiency that even some of his strongest supporters find so frustrating would be an unalloyed asset. But in a politician—above all, in a president—such qualities are confounding and, at times, crippling.

“He never needed anyone to affirm his value,” one of his longest-serving advisers told me, “and for that reason, I’m not sure he understands what it would mean to provide a little affirmation to another politician. Because it wouldn’t mean much to him.”

via Obama the Loner: The Trouble with the President’s Self-Reliant, Closed-Off Attitude | Vanity Fair.

An Entertainment Intelligence Agency | http://www.prestonlowe.org/

Preston Lowe | 979 FM Music Director | Rickey Smiley Morning show Producer and On-Air Personality | Oldschool 94.5 FM | Dallas

tower1_e0

PEL Interactive

A Radio and Social Media Intelligence Agency™

My supporters

Trinity Zion Ministries - Bastrop, TX

Trinity Zion Ministries
151 Shiloh Road Bastrop, Texas 78602

and

Miscarriage Matters, Inc is an organization that was founded in Chicago, Illinois. Our national and international team is here to provide support to the survivors of miscarriage, stillbirth and early infant loss, while increasing awareness around these devastating and heartbreaking issues.

1365726957

Leave a Reply

